70 Reviews

This is close to the actual recipe for bang bang shrimp. How do I know, I work there and know the exact recipe. The sauce is mayo, mae ploy brand sweet thai chili sauce and garlic chili sauce (hoy fong foods brand). Shrimp are soaked briefly in buttermilk and tossed in seasoned flour.

No peanut butter, no sriracha. I won't give the measurements though but i promise you those are the ingredients. The author of this recipe is very close tho.

31 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mcdad77 February 16, 2013

Perfect!!! I did made a few slight changes: First I added a small amount of red curry paste to sauce. Then when preparing shrimp, I coated shrimp in the corn starch. Then did an Egg wash. Last dipped in Panko bread crumbs Then cooked in oil. My husband said it was the best recipe yet!!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
crazy,about,food April 25, 2009

I've been making this for quite a while. This is the recipe I use because it tastes closest to Bonefish Grill's. I wondered if CookJTB might have used some of the Heinz-type chili sauce when mentioning that it tastes like bad Thousand Island dressing. This shouldn't taste anything close to that. Last time I made it, I was out of the sweet Thai chili sauce. I mixed up apricot jam with a little vinegar, garlic, ginger and hot pepper flakes and it tasted just the same. And YES! Just a little spoonful of peanut butter really does make it just perfect!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Felina May 14, 2011

Verrrry bad. Sauce was disgusting. You might have used a different brand but it was still awfull. Don't waste money to buy ingriedients for this.. Please.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stewkid92 November 29, 2008

Just made this. It's awesome. Just be sure to buy the shrimp already cleaned and deveined.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jerry Amstutz June 26, 2010

Sorry, but I found this recipe in need of just a bit too much "doctoring" from the original. The coating by itself was alright- and admittedly I never would have thought to fry in cornstarch, but I ended up trying it again with some cornmeal mixed in, and liked that much better. Also, the sauce, as another reviewer noted, reeked of mayo. I tried it again using low fat mayo, which did help cut the mayo-ey taste, but it still was very overpowerig. After a bit more chili sauce, and a LOT more Sriracha (the hot sauce I used) it was better though. Maybe home-made mayo would help? Sometime I might get ambitious and try it. I love this appetizer at bonefish, but in my opinion this recipe in it's current form is not that great of a copycat, nor that great on it's own.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Piaqua June 14, 2008

such a silly recipe. It reeks of mayo. I was so embarrassed. Wont make it again:(

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
prdreamgirl7 April 29, 2008

This recipe was delicious, sweet and spicy...creamy and crunchy, a real treat. I didn't find the mayo overpowering at all, but I did use slightly more Sweet Thai Chili sauce than called for, and slightly less mayo. In fact, I used miracle whip rather than mayo, just family preference. I think next time I will add more Sriachi sauce, just added a few drops so that the family wasn't over powered by the heat, but it could have used more without issues. I found the entire process quite easy and quick in spite of the coating and frying steps. Once all the shrimp was cooked I threw the entire batch back into the oil for a few seconds to reheat before mixing the shrimp with the sauce in a large bowl. We had it as a main course rather than an appetizer. Thanks for sharing! I will be making this again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Minxkat1 February 16, 2014

YUCK! It tastes like bad Thousand Island dressing. This recipe is not even close. I used about a tbsp of hot chili sauce before the heat would even cut the mayo flavor. Glad I didn't fry the shrimp yet. I might have to give dinniselect a try eventhough I'd rather have a homemade recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cook JTB November 01, 2009

These are tasty, but I wish the coating was thicker. Maybe do that tempura batter next time?

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MaddieLC September 01, 2009
Bang Bang Shrimp - Copycat from Bonefish Grill