Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Copycat Restaurant Recipes

    Top 20 Restaurant Clones

    Top 20 Restaurant Clones

    From Cheesecake Factory to IHOP
    Red Lobster Remakes

    Red Lobster Remakes

    Make Your Own Cheddar Bay Biscuits
    15 Best Starbucks Copycats

    15 Best Starbucks Copycats

    Skip the Morning Coffee Run
    You are in: Home / Restaurant / Bang Bang Shrimp - Copycat from Bonefish Grill Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Bang Bang Shrimp - Copycat from Bonefish Grill

    Average Rating:

    67 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 67

    Sort by:

    • on February 16, 2013

      This is close to the actual recipe for bang bang shrimp. How do I know, I work there and know the exact recipe. The sauce is mayo, mae ploy brand sweet thai chili sauce and garlic chili sauce (hoy fong foods brand). Shrimp are soaked briefly in buttermilk and tossed in seasoned flour.

      No peanut butter, no sriracha. I won't give the measurements though but i promise you those are the ingredients. The author of this recipe is very close tho.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2009

      Perfect!!! I did made a few slight changes: First I added a small amount of red curry paste to sauce. Then when preparing shrimp, I coated shrimp in the corn starch. Then did an Egg wash. Last dipped in Panko bread crumbs Then cooked in oil. My husband said it was the best recipe yet!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2011

      I've been making this for quite a while. This is the recipe I use because it tastes closest to Bonefish Grill's. I wondered if CookJTB might have used some of the Heinz-type chili sauce when mentioning that it tastes like bad Thousand Island dressing. This shouldn't taste anything close to that. Last time I made it, I was out of the sweet Thai chili sauce. I mixed up apricot jam with a little vinegar, garlic, ginger and hot pepper flakes and it tasted just the same. And YES! Just a little spoonful of peanut butter really does make it just perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2008

      Verrrry bad. Sauce was disgusting. You might have used a different brand but it was still awfull. Don't waste money to buy ingriedients for this.. Please.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2010

      Just made this. It's awesome. Just be sure to buy the shrimp already cleaned and deveined.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2008

      Sorry, but I found this recipe in need of just a bit too much "doctoring" from the original. The coating by itself was alright- and admittedly I never would have thought to fry in cornstarch, but I ended up trying it again with some cornmeal mixed in, and liked that much better. Also, the sauce, as another reviewer noted, reeked of mayo. I tried it again using low fat mayo, which did help cut the mayo-ey taste, but it still was very overpowerig. After a bit more chili sauce, and a LOT more Sriracha (the hot sauce I used) it was better though. Maybe home-made mayo would help? Sometime I might get ambitious and try it. I love this appetizer at bonefish, but in my opinion this recipe in it's current form is not that great of a copycat, nor that great on it's own.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2008

      such a silly recipe. It reeks of mayo. I was so embarrassed. Wont make it again:(

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2014

      This recipe was delicious, sweet and spicy...creamy and crunchy, a real treat. I didn't find the mayo overpowering at all, but I did use slightly more Sweet Thai Chili sauce than called for, and slightly less mayo. In fact, I used miracle whip rather than mayo, just family preference. I think next time I will add more Sriachi sauce, just added a few drops so that the family wasn't over powered by the heat, but it could have used more without issues. I found the entire process quite easy and quick in spite of the coating and frying steps. Once all the shrimp was cooked I threw the entire batch back into the oil for a few seconds to reheat before mixing the shrimp with the sauce in a large bowl. We had it as a main course rather than an appetizer. Thanks for sharing! I will be making this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2009

      YUCK! It tastes like bad Thousand Island dressing. This recipe is not even close. I used about a tbsp of hot chili sauce before the heat would even cut the mayo flavor. Glad I didn't fry the shrimp yet. I might have to give dinniselect a try eventhough I'd rather have a homemade recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2009

      These are tasty, but I wish the coating was thicker. Maybe do that tempura batter next time?

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2008

      Simple enough recipe,but it's not like the real thing. Way too much mayo. I tried to save the sauce by adding 3x the about of sweet chili sauce, but all I ended up with was a ton of funky sauce.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2007

      I made these for our annual Christmas party, and they got poor reviews all around. I thought that the sauce tasted too much like mayo, but most said that they didn't taste like anything. I will continue to try to tweak this, because they're my favorite app at Bonefish.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2014

      This is always a hit when I make these! The only difference I do is cut the amount of mayo in half to 1/4 c. It's still super tastey!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2014

      If you enjoy the sauce for this, which I really do, the recipe works well for chicken breasts cut in cubes and using the same treatment as the shrimp.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2014

      NOT THE SAME!! Entirely too much mayo. Maybe it depends on the brand of Sweet Hot Chili Sauce because I had to use the whole 10oz Maggi bottle and it still did not completelymask the mayo taste. But iwill decrease the mayo next time :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2014

      I found this recipe and it really was good. I used the Frank's Sweet Chili sauce & Texas Pete Sriracha sauce. I just extra of both so we could have a nice mix of heat & sweet taste. I made the sauce in advance and put it in refrigerator to chill for a couple hours before using it. I'm serious considering making a new batch of sauce to see how it will taste on fried chicken.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2013

      Very good recipe. I have made it a couple of times and everyone loves it!! I have also cut up boneless skinless chicken into chunks and prepared it the same way. Very tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2013

      made this for my mothers birthday it was great and easy I served sautéed mushrooms with it and roasted asparagus with hollandaise sauce with spicy wings the bang bang shrimp is the bomb!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2013

    • on April 24, 2013

      Shrimp in cornstarch is nothing worth noting...<br/>The sauce is just mayo with 1/4 chili sauce and a few drops hot sauce...BIG DEAL.<br/>I doubt this is a "copycat," as it's beyond simple.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Bang Bang Shrimp - Copycat from Bonefish Grill

    Serving Size: 1 (117 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 274.1
     
    Calories from Fat 99
    36%
    Total Fat 11.0 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 1.5 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 150.5 mg
    50%
    Sodium 1085.5 mg
    45%
    Total Carbohydrate 26.0 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 3.7 g
    14%
    Protein 16.1 g
    32%

    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites