Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Restaurant / Bratten's Clam Chowder - Copycat Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Bratten's Clam Chowder - Copycat

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on October 09, 2009

      Very rich and creamy, this is the recipe my mom made over the years. Mom did not use the wine vinegar but did add 1/2 teaspoon sugar. Notes: Two cans minced clams will replace the one pound, and 3/4 cup flour should be listed as an ingredient only once. Also, four ounces additional clam juice will provide this chowder with needed flavor.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2012

      Delicious! Made it using minced clams and added 1 jar of extra clam juice. Also reduced the red wine vinegar to 1 TBSP. Best clam chowder recipe I've tried!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2011

      I grew up in Utah, and Bratten's Chowder has always been our family"s favorite. For those of you who are reluctant to add the vinegar. please give it a try. It is what makes it so unique and delicious. Now we've moved to Arizona, and are passing the Bratten's recipe around here to our friends. It's absolutely the BEST clam chowder ever! Also, for those worried about calories, I use less butter and FAT FREE 1/2 and 1/2. Still tastes great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2010

      i so miss bratten's cove...the one that was in bountiful, utah...going to try this for sure...then i'll give stars

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2007

      Remade again on 9/10/07 and came out absolutely Fabulous. But I did leave out that extra 3/4 cup of flower that is on the recipe. Thank you for a recipe I will make over and over. 9/13/2006 This recipee was delicious when finished, but I did run into a couple of oops's. I drained the juice from the clams then I poured the clams over the vegies... then I added the 1 and 1/2 cups flour like the recipee says, and well that became a nice chunky mess:) But after I redid some of those mistakes and went and bought clam juice, it turned out really good. Thank You.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2006

      I have eaten this at the Bratten's that was in Bountiful,Utah and have made this recipe for about 25 years. It is delicious and easy to make. The only failure I have had was putting a little too much water over the potatoe mixture. My recipe doesn't have the wine vinegar but will try it. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2006

      Wonderful! Easy to make and tasted great. The whole family enjoyed this recipe.Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2005

      great recipe, thank you! I was looking for a recipe like this one for a long time. I used milk instead of half and half and it still tasted great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2005

      I was so excited to find this recipe. This restaurant is the only place we would go when I was a kid when visiting Salt Lake city. Thank you so much for sharing. It has always been my favorite clam chowder and I can't wait to try the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Bratten's Clam Chowder - Copycat

    Serving Size: 1 (472 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 5

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 823.5
     
    Calories from Fat 466
    56%
    Total Fat 51.8 g
    79%
    Saturated Fat 31.7 g
    158%
    Cholesterol 190.2 mg
    63%
    Sodium 1143.6 mg
    47%
    Total Carbohydrate 56.4 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 3.2 g
    12%
    Sugars 2.6 g
    10%
    Protein 33.6 g
    67%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes