12 Reviews

This was a wonderful wake-me-up treat this morning! I must be honest, looking at the ingredients, I was expecting this to be more like a Dunkin Donuts-type "coffee" drink than a Starbucks-like flavored COFFEE (no complaints, since I like both sweet coffee drinks and real coffee with flavors, just sayin' ). This is actually much less sweet than one would expect, considering the components. I only made half a recipe, since no one was home to share with (didn't think my crazy little terriers needed coffee, lol). I will definitely be whipping this one out as the weather gets colder. Thanks for posting! Made by a fellow Merry Maid of Mayhem for Culinary Quest I Family Picks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Muffin Goddess September 16, 2014

This was the perfect coffee drink to start my morning. I opted for the extra drizzle of caramel syrup over the cocoa mix (even though I don't usually like my coffee sweetened), and I think it was a good choice. I used Swiss Miss milk chocolate powdered mix, but I'd love to try this with the dark chocolate next time. I think it'll be fantastic. Thanks, KateL. Made for 2014 Culinary Quest (Pacific Northwest).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NorthwestGal September 04, 2014

WOW! So delicious! I love the combo of flavors and it was the perfect amount of sweetness. Frankly I think the famous one at the coffee shop is much sweeter then this version. Will be making it again soon. Made for January 2013's Casual Veggie Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AcadiaTwo January 21, 2013

This isn't five stars, this is sublime! I had to make some changes because I didn't have exactly the ingredients called for, but I think they match the flavour. So I used a hazelnut flavoured decaf - the hazelnut flavour is not strong at all, so I think that's perfect. Also I don't get Swiss Miss cocoa here, so I used Monbana 100% Hot Chocolate (no sweetener added). For the caramel topping I used my home made caramel sauce made from whole cane sugar. This really wasn't quite sweet, which is perfect for me. Coffee and Chocolate with that dark caramel flavour and a hint of hazelnut - absolutely delicious! Thanks for posting!
Made for Best of 2010.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mia in Germany February 16, 2011

This is SOOO VERY GOOD!!(-: It is even lighter and "a little" less sweet than my usual cup of coffee. I really enjoyed this!! LOVE IT!! Thank you so much!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kellychris February 01, 2010

This was truly incredible Kate. I enjoyed this delicious coffee treat so much. I will be making it again, but will have to limit myself to occasionally...sooo good. I agree with Mikekey, its not as sweet as it sounds....the flavors all blend beautifully together. It tasted like I bought it at the Cafe...absolutely loved it. Made for Comfort Cafe Chalet 2010.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato January 11, 2010

This is a delicious coffee!!! I used fresh ground regular coffee and regular swiss miss(what I had on hand). I think even using a hazelnut flavored coffee would work for this also!!! This was a wonderful morning treat!!! Thanks for sharing Kate!!! Made for holiday tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diner524 October 17, 2008

Unlike me, my DH loves his coffee sweet; so I made this to get on his good side :) He said it was perfect! I modified the recipe a bit by using my standard latte recipe and adding all the ingredients except the half-n-half. (I figured the milk in the latte would make up for it). It worked out wonderfully; great mid-day treat! Will definitely make this again for DH.....when I need to get on his good side :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cook4_6 August 09, 2008

I agree that this doesn't taste as sweet as it sounds. The flavors are balanced just right. I used Smucker's Suger-free Caramel ice cream topping and sugar-free hazelnut syrup, so mine was guilt-free! I also used "full-caf" dark roast coffee, made in a French press pot. Thanks for sharing this treat!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mikekey July 26, 2008

I need my caffeine so I used regular coffee and about 1/2 tblsp cadbury cocoa instead of Swiss Miss. The flavours here are very subtle but lovely, not overpoweringly sweet just smooth & tasty!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Mandy** July 25, 2008
Caramel Macchiato Coffee Chez Kathy