Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Restaurant / Children's Play Dough Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Children's Play Dough

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on March 24, 2011

      This worked out great in a pinch. I ended up watching my neighbours kids for a few hours and this kept them busy and happily chattering away. I was really glad to see it didn't include cream of tartar or alum as I don't keep either on hand.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2010

      This play dough was so easy to make. It's the first I've ever made so I really don't have anything to compare it to. It was a wee bit dry so I added a little splash of water. I made half a batch and poked a little hole in the middle of the ball and filled w/ food coloring and let my 7yr old mix it in. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2009

      Great, non-cooked playdough. Its a bit gritty at first - but as the kids played with it, it became smoother. I did need to add almost 1/8-1/4 more water & a bit more oil. But we live in AZ where it is currently 100* and our humidity is in the teens = hot & dry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2009

      Like other reviewers, I prefer the texture of cooked dough, as it seems smoother straight out of the pan, but this dough makes up for it with ease of preparation and the missing ingredient - no cream of tartar required. We made our big batch without any color, then I had the kids (ages 6 - 11) knead their favorite color into their pieces. It was a lot less work for me, and the dough got nice and smooth after all their work! I might use a cooked dough for a younger crowd.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2007

      very fast and easy to make. I, too, like the texture of cooked dough better, but this is great for something quick and if you don't have cream of tartar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2007

      I teach intensive needs students and they can make this and love it. Not too difficult for them, which makes me love it too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2007

      This is fun! I made this for my DD, and tinted it purple. Comes together in no time and is nice and soft. DH had fun playing too. Thanks. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2006

      I enjoy cooked playdough more since it seems to keep longer, but liked that this DOESN'T call for cream of tartar. Mixing food coloring in the water first makes a better color distribution. Using a mixer helps dissole the salt better so the texture is not grainy. All in all, a nice basic dough.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2006

      This is a nice basic playdough recipe. I think ultimately that I prefer the smoother texture of the cooked version, but love the fact that this is easy enough that the kids can do it on their own with no worries about watching the stove. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2005

      What a great recipe! I like this particular play dough because it doesn't require any cooking and the texture only improves the more you play with it. I add food coloring to the water before mixing and it works really well. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2002

      Turned out perfect, we had a big batch. Step-son and I made a few things immediately on the cutting board and they are now air drying slowly since we dont want to wreck them. I loved the fact this one didnt need cooking so he could basically make it all himself with me dumping in the water and helping knead. It also isnt oily like some are and you cant stand to even use it. Thanks a bunch, we had fun.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Kid-Friendly Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Children's Play Dough

    Serving Size: 1 (918 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1485.2
     
    Calories from Fat 155
    10%
    Total Fat 17.2 g
    26%
    Saturated Fat 2.3 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 113187.9 mg
    4716%
    Total Carbohydrate 286.1 g
    95%
    Dietary Fiber 10.1 g
    40%
    Sugars 1.0 g
    4%
    Protein 38.7 g
    77%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites