11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This worked out great in a pinch. I ended up watching my neighbours kids for a few hours and this kept them busy and happily chattering away. I was really glad to see it didn't include cream of tartar or alum as I don't keep either on hand.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mums the word March 24, 2011

This play dough was so easy to make. It's the first I've ever made so I really don't have anything to compare it to. It was a wee bit dry so I added a little splash of water. I made half a batch and poked a little hole in the middle of the ball and filled w/ food coloring and let my 7yr old mix it in. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChefWendyMG January 10, 2010

Great, non-cooked playdough. Its a bit gritty at first - but as the kids played with it, it became smoother. I did need to add almost 1/8-1/4 more water & a bit more oil. But we live in AZ where it is currently 100* and our humidity is in the teens = hot & dry.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dukeswalker May 17, 2009

Like other reviewers, I prefer the texture of cooked dough, as it seems smoother straight out of the pan, but this dough makes up for it with ease of preparation and the missing ingredient - no cream of tartar required. We made our big batch without any color, then I had the kids (ages 6 - 11) knead their favorite color into their pieces. It was a lot less work for me, and the dough got nice and smooth after all their work! I might use a cooked dough for a younger crowd.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VintagePicnic January 31, 2009

very fast and easy to make. I, too, like the texture of cooked dough better, but this is great for something quick and if you don't have cream of tartar.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amberley November 29, 2007

I teach intensive needs students and they can make this and love it. Not too difficult for them, which makes me love it too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yankee1308 September 17, 2007

This is fun! I made this for my DD, and tinted it purple. Comes together in no time and is nice and soft. DH had fun playing too. Thanks. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dicentra September 02, 2007

I enjoy cooked playdough more since it seems to keep longer, but liked that this DOESN'T call for cream of tartar. Mixing food coloring in the water first makes a better color distribution. Using a mixer helps dissole the salt better so the texture is not grainy. All in all, a nice basic dough.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CatR June 24, 2006

This is a nice basic playdough recipe. I think ultimately that I prefer the smoother texture of the cooked version, but love the fact that this is easy enough that the kids can do it on their own with no worries about watching the stove. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
winkki January 18, 2006

What a great recipe! I like this particular play dough because it doesn't require any cooking and the texture only improves the more you play with it. I add food coloring to the water before mixing and it works really well. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shimmerchk September 30, 2005
Children's Play Dough