123 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I have been looking for a recipe that does not use mayo for the longest time. I know it's safe and all but the idea grosses me out. I was excited to find this copy cat. I'm very picky when it comes to Spinach and Artichoke dip and Applebees is among my list of favs. I have tried many homemade ones that others have made and they are always super oily and taste nothing like the restaurant version. I was skeptical when I tried making this earlier today. I pulled it out of the oven and it looked gorgeous! Not to mention it tasted AWESOME!!! Even my husband who is not as big of a fan of spinach and artichoke dips loved it! I can not thank you enough for sharing this fabulous recipe. I now can skip applebees curb take-out and make it myself!!! :) Update to review on 7/19/2009: I recently got the idea to cook up some chicken breast (I seasoned it with garlic, and cajun seasoning) then added an extra 10 ounces of alfredo sauce. I also added a box of penne rigate pasta, and mixed it all together in a large lasagne pan. I baked it as per the normal directions, stirred it, and then topped with extra cheese half-way through. The pasta turned out amazing! It is now a household staple. :)

22 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ColorguardGeek1219 July 19, 2009

Fantastic!! Even better after it sits for a few days. Broiled for the last two minutes to brown the cheese. Just awesome. I'm going to make it for my graduation party too! Thanks!! **Edit** I wanted to bring this to work one day but didn't have oven access so I threw all the ingredients in my crockpot and let them go. If I'm in a hurry I'll turn it on high for 30-45 minutes, otherwise it's on low for about an hour, maybe a little more. Very easy and a triple batch fits perfect! Thanks again!

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RaeMay August 23, 2009

I made this for our Easter Potluck (yesterday), and boy it was gone in less than 30 minutes!! I doubled the recipe to 20 servings. I followed one of the other reviewers tip and broiled the dish at the end for about 2 minutes. I'm more of a garlic person, so next time, I think i'll more garlic. I also used kraft shredded parmesan romano and asiago cheese, just because it sounded good! But overall, it was delicious!!!! I prefer bread than tortilla chips =) Thanks for the recipe!!

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MarienetteC April 09, 2012

This dip is amazing, even tastier than Applebee's. The first time I made it, I squeezed the moisture out of the thawed spinach, which made the dip WAY too thick and dry. Now I don't drain/squeeze the spinach at all, and the consistency is perfect. I do everything as directed, except I usually sprinkle a little more parmesan cheese and some chopped red onion on top of the dip when it comes out of the oven. Everyone loves this dip; it's absolutely addictive!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AltoRose August 18, 2008

It's the best. My daughter requested artichoke dip for her birthday and I made this recipe and everyone loved it. I had some non dip lovers converted. I mixed all the ingredients up early before the party and then put it in the crock pot on low for 2 hours and it was perfect.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tarrich December 29, 2009

This is great! I went one step further one night to dress up boring chicken. I pounded chicken breasts really thin and then filled them with this dip and rolled them up and baked them topped with swiss cheese and bread crumbs. The anti veggie people in my house loved it. Thanks! Cheryl in NJ

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hazeleyedbeauty1967 November 09, 2007

Great recipe! I have made this several times for family get togethers and parties-its a hit! The first few times I made it, I baked it in the oven then let it sit in the crockpot throughout the party. It was good, but eventually got pretty gross looking. I found that mixing the ingredients and microwaving small batches throughout the party is the way to go. It tastes the same as baking, but you can keep it fresh looking and tasting (not to mention it is a lot easier and quicker!).

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
asnyd87 December 11, 2010

Good, but definitely not the Applebee's recipe. Used the whole 15oz jar of Bertolli Classic Four Cheese Alfredo Sauce. Only chopped up two artichoke hearts, since I'm not really a fan of them. Added loads of cheese because the one cup was just not enough (used an Italian cheese blend of mozzarella and parmesean and grated pecorino romano). This recipe is a great base to use for your own spin, while cutting down on SOME of the fat from recipes that use Mayonnaise and Sour Cream.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tiffanyyyxo November 30, 2010

This is absolutely delicious and does taste ALOT like Applebee's! I've tried some of the other spinach artichoke dips on here and they were all thick, sticky and gloppy. This was nice and creamy. I used a jar of Ragu Roasted Garlic and Parmesan Alfredo Sauce. Since I only had the powder Parmesan/Romano i didn't squeeze the spinach dry so it would still be creamy. The only change I made was a little salt. I'll be making this constantly! Thanks for the great recipe!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hottiecj December 20, 2008

IMHO, this recipe is tastier than what I have been served at Applebee's. It was quick, easy and delicious. I topped it with a little extra Parmesan, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
soxendine February 03, 2013
Copycat Applebee's Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip