13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

What a great recipe find! I like the light flavor of the generic soup, which allows you to flavor it to match the recipe you need it in. I sauted chopped mushrooms and added to the mix for a great cream of mushroom base. I then used it as a cover for baked pork chops - good stuff!!

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KathyShu March 17, 2002

What a great resource! This gives us far more versatility in the kitchen than having to shop for or stock each indifidual soup variation. Shelf-stable make-your-own stuff is a lifeline for budget-conscious cooks. Thanks!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gran April 10, 2002

This is fantastic!!! It is nice to find an alternative to the red and white can that is not only gluten free, but frugal to boot!!! I always appreciate recipes that take a commercial product full of preservatives and what=nots and break it down to it simplest form!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Doyle April 24, 2010

Thank you for posting this, Charlotte J! This worked just perfectly in my recipe - I'll be using this all the time! As a family of 5, we are always looking for ways to cut our grocery budget - this will be much more cost effective than paying $1.25 or so for the Healthy request creamed soups! Prepared and reviewed for Australian/New Zealand Recipe Swap March 2008.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sweet Diva March 02, 2008

I scaled the recipe down to1 can and it worked like a charm! Adding liquid from canned mushrooms and water to equal about ¾ cup, I used it in place of cream of mushroom soup in Pepsi Pork Roast . Thanks for posting this! It is a handy recipe to have on hand.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SusieQusie February 07, 2008

I used instant low-sodium chicken bouillon. This smells so great. I tried it in a recipe. I put it with the water in the microwave and then added it to the recipe. Now I'll be able to do recipes that asks for cream soup cause my BF can't have too much sodium. Thanks Charlotte :) Made for Zaar Star Game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette January 28, 2008

Wow Char- you will be saving me a lot of money :) Made a batch and having been using it in numerous recipes and no one has even noticed. I keep this on my counter top as I use a lot of cream of chicken soup. Now I know exactly when is in it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol January 26, 2008

I used this in a casserole tonight, and it worked wonderfully! I just made up enough for 1 can, but I think I'm going to make the whole batch soon. It's really easy & much healthier than the canned variety. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CaramelPie October 11, 2007

just wonderul

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nathanielc336 September 28, 2007

This is the most versatile recipe imaginable. You can have "cream of anything" soup, any time. Mushrooms? Add a can of diced tomatoes? Broccoli and cheese? Simply marvelous! And so much healthier than the canned kinds with their 1000 mg of sodium....

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
happyday49 December 16, 2006
Creamed Soup Substitute