Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Restaurant / Creamed Soup Substitute Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Creamed Soup Substitute

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on March 17, 2002

      What a great recipe find! I like the light flavor of the generic soup, which allows you to flavor it to match the recipe you need it in. I sauted chopped mushrooms and added to the mix for a great cream of mushroom base. I then used it as a cover for baked pork chops - good stuff!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2002

      What a great resource! This gives us far more versatility in the kitchen than having to shop for or stock each indifidual soup variation. Shelf-stable make-your-own stuff is a lifeline for budget-conscious cooks. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2010

      This is fantastic!!! It is nice to find an alternative to the red and white can that is not only gluten free, but frugal to boot!!! I always appreciate recipes that take a commercial product full of preservatives and what=nots and break it down to it simplest form!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2008

      Thank you for posting this, Charlotte J! This worked just perfectly in my recipe - I'll be using this all the time! As a family of 5, we are always looking for ways to cut our grocery budget - this will be much more cost effective than paying $1.25 or so for the Healthy request creamed soups! Prepared and reviewed for Australian/New Zealand Recipe Swap March 2008.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2008

      I scaled the recipe down to1 can and it worked like a charm! Adding liquid from canned mushrooms and water to equal about ¾ cup, I used it in place of cream of mushroom soup in Pepsi Pork Roast . Thanks for posting this! It is a handy recipe to have on hand.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2008

      I used instant low-sodium chicken bouillon. This smells so great. I tried it in a recipe. I put it with the water in the microwave and then added it to the recipe. Now I'll be able to do recipes that asks for cream soup cause my BF can't have too much sodium. Thanks Charlotte :) Made for Zaar Star Game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2008

      Wow Char- you will be saving me a lot of money :) Made a batch and having been using it in numerous recipes and no one has even noticed. I keep this on my counter top as I use a lot of cream of chicken soup. Now I know exactly when is in it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2007

      I used this in a casserole tonight, and it worked wonderfully! I just made up enough for 1 can, but I think I'm going to make the whole batch soon. It's really easy & much healthier than the canned variety. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2007

      just wonderul

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2006

      This is the most versatile recipe imaginable. You can have "cream of anything" soup, any time. Mushrooms? Add a can of diced tomatoes? Broccoli and cheese? Simply marvelous! And so much healthier than the canned kinds with their 1000 mg of sodium....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2005

      I love this useful recipe. Tonight I mixed up the one can amount for the first time- it took about 8-10 minutes to cook it until thick. It doesn't get quite as thick as the store-bought variety, but then of course if you let it cool it will thicken considerably. Thanks SO much for sharing, Charlotte J!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2005

      Now THIS is a useful recipe, a keeper indeed!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2004

      better than campbells, made this with chicken broth left from unboiled chicken #33104 for KFCs Chicken Pot pie #58905, worked wonderfully

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Creamed Soup Substitute

    Serving Size: 1 (365 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 239.4
     
    Calories from Fat 88
    36%
    Total Fat 9.8 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 6.1 g
    30%
    Cholesterol 35.5 mg
    11%
    Sodium 178.4 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.9 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 14.5 g
    58%
    Protein 9.8 g
    19%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes