Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Restaurant / Creamy Sweet Peas Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Creamy Sweet Peas

    Average Rating:

    34 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 34

    Sort by:

    • on January 04, 2003

      I was so delighted to see this recipe. I am from Jacksonville, but now residing in Des Moines, and a personal friend of the owner of Beach Road Chicken. After several years of begging, Vince finally told me that the missing ingredient that no one would ever guess was powered milk! You will find that adding 1/4 cup of powdered milk to the liquid from the peas, plus 2 tsp sugar, will give you EXACTLY what you've been craving.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2002

      Absolutely WONDERFUL!!! I cannot praise this dish enough. I ate it all myself:o!!! Next time, I'll make double so the family can try some/lol!! Thank you for a wonerful and simple recipe!! ~Manda

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2003

      Just like Mom used to make! I added a handful of canned mushrooms. Yummy and easy too! This is a keeper. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2013

      Best creamed peas ever, also the beach Road Chicken House best ever, Started eating there when I was a baby. and that was 75 years ago.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2011

      I, too grew up with Beach Road Chicken Dinners. The best!! Thanks for sharing the recipe and thanks to the reviewer who knew about the powdered milk and the sugar. Now, if I could just make fried chicken like that!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2007

      This should be called "back in time" cream peas..it took me back to my childhood and Mom"s cooking..Thanks will make again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2005

      Braunda, Creamed peas is my favorite veggie,I made these with our sunday dinner, We had Beef and noodles,mashed potatoes and a salad.the only thing I did different was to add a tiny bit of garlic powder to it.My grandson Corey had 2 helpings of the peas,He loved them. Thanks,Darlene

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2004

      This tasted so good. I have made this numerous times since finding the recipe. Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2004

      What an easy, tasty dish! I made this for our Braundathon and couldn't believe how peas could taste so much better! I used only half the liquid from the can of peas and topped it up with milk.. like a white sauce! Thanks Braunda!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2004

      I've been making this recipe for years except I use milk or cream instead of the reserved liquid. Sometimes I add red new potatos as a hearty side dish with chicken or fish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2004

      We had these last night for supper with a chicken and dressing casserole. Even DD2(Miss "I Hate canned peas!") ate it and called it good! Took me back to my childhood suppers with my family. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2004

      Very tasty! I made this for the Braundathon. I was really pleasantly surprised at how good this made ordinary canned peas taste. Simple, but full of flavor. I am so happy I tried this tasty recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2004

      This dish was rich and creamy. I felt as though I was whisked back into my mother's kitchen again. She made this exact recipe as a child which I had long forgotten. It is the best side dish that we've had in a long time. I did not use the reserved liquid from the canned peas, but instead used a cup of skim milk due to salt and diet reasons. The peas turned out great! I served them with salmon, and rice. This was a big hit with everyone. I appreciate having this recipe very much Braunda, and I thank you for posting this most delicious yet simple recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2002

      Wow - This was easy, quick & SO yummy! Even my boys (5 yrs & 3 yrs) ate this one, and they RARELY eat peas these days, so this was a major bonus! This is basically how my Amish mother-in-law makes 'em, but I never seemed to go further than my usual brown butter...so this will be a new addition to our dinner table - this one's here to stay! I'm also keeping this recipe handy to use when I take a meal to someone. It's not wildly spiced or anything, so it's perfect for the new moms (nursing) - and also some others who don't like anything extreme in flavor. Simply yummy! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2014

      Wanted to try something different for my grands...they loved this!! Made as written but I do want to try the suggestion of the powdered milk. This is going into rotation...thank you for sharing!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2012

      When I make creamy sweet peas I use one 8 oz can of condensed milk instead of the juice from the peas. I make a rue with the butter and flour and canned milk. When this is hot and bubbly I add the drained peas...This makes for a much creamier dish.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2010

      This is a nice way to dress up canned peas. Even the little kids who said they didn't like peas liked them. I was tempted to add some milk to the dish but wanted to try it "as is" first and it was great!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2009

      so good! i added heavy cream and the sugar as described by another rater. perfect!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2009

      This was great over a slice of Italian bread loaded with turkey! Comfort food at its best!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2009

      These were so good! My mom always served creamy peas with salmon cakes, so I did that tonight with Salmon Cakes #31792. (Also a great recipe) I did use a little milk, because it just seem weird not to. My 14 month-old loved them, too!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Creamy Sweet Peas

    Serving Size: 1 (79 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 152.0
     
    Calories from Fat 56
    36%
    Total Fat 6.2 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 3.7 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 15.2 mg
    5%
    Sodium 201.4 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.5 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 5.5 g
    22%
    Sugars 6.0 g
    24%
    Protein 6.2 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites