299 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Excellent recipe! It tastes just like Olive Garden's version! I used a 26 oz jar of Prego Traditional Sauce and 20 oz of Swanson beef stock. I added some water, too at the end as there was almost no liquid. Be forewarned that my 6qt crockpot was the bare minimum size for this recipe. Don't forget the grated Parm or Romano on top before serving. Update: Because this makes so much, I had to freeze a good bit of it. I may leave out the pasta next time. That way, when I reheat it, I can just add in the cooked pasta and it won't be mushy when I reheat it. Thanks for sharing it!

34 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Zoesmama February 28, 2010

I'm kind of upset I really have no reason to go back to Olive Garden...oh wait, the breadsticks :) Scratch that! This soup is Delicious though! I cut the recipe in half (only 2 of us), and used ground turkey instead of beef. I also followed other people's suggestions to cook the pasta separately -- my first time I semi-cooked it then added, second time making it I didn't combine the soup and pasta at all until it was in my bowl :) I liked the second method better because the pasta realllly soaks up the juices when added, and I like my soup to be soupy! This is a must try recipe for sure.

28 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jboise2 July 14, 2011

This was delicious!! My fiance absolutely loved it. I changed the recipe around a little bit because I decided to make this at about 5pm at night so I didnt have time to use a crock pot. I sauteed onion, garlic, carrots, and celery for about 10 min then added the ground beef and cooked until brown. Then added one can of kidney beans, one can of great northern beans (both drained and rinsed), two cans of diced tomatoes(undrained), jar spaghetti sauce, can beef stock, 1 T oregano, 1 1/2 T parsley, 1 t pepper, 1 t salt, and a pinch of ground red pepper. Mixed that all together and let simmer for almost an hour. I then added noodles that had been semi cooked. The noodles will finish cooking in the soup. My fiance is a huge fan of Olive gardens soup and he said this tasted just like it!!

21 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BrittyK17 January 22, 2011

A great recipe, I made a couple changes...

-Added 1/3 cup of fresh diced parsley as indicated by some other recipes
-Used ground turkey instead, and browned it in the same stock pot, in 2TBSP olive oil
-Used Beef bouillon instead of stock (small difference)
-Instead of crock pot, I brought it to a boil and simmered for 1 hour.
-Skipped the pasta and the hot sauce. I hear the hot sauce is really important so may try it next time!

These changes weren't really because I found anything wrong with the recipe, but out of necessity and preference, and I wanted to let you know everything came out great as such.

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
thatchman1 January 16, 2011

This was amazing!! I am a big Olive Garden fan and was a bit hesitant to try this copycat recipe, but i am sure glad i did!! It tastes EXACTLY like the restaurant serves! The only thing i didn't realize was that this recipe makes a large amount (serves 12-14). But hubby brought in the leftovers to work today and all the guys said it was awesome and some even want the recipe!! I will definitely make this again!!!! Thank you so much!!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Zachsmommy25 March 01, 2010

Excellent. I don't eat at OG much and usually don't get this soup, so I can't compare this to that. But as a fagioli soup, this was very very good. 5 stars for easyness, preparation, clean-up, cook-time and taste. I didn't do the crock-pot as I didn't want to wait 7 or 8 hours so I did it on the stovetop and cooked for a couple hours. PERFECTO!! I also didn't use beef broth as I was trying to use up what I had in my cupboards, which was Chicken Broth. Regardless, it still tasted GREAT. Like other reviewers, I will cook up my pasta separately and add to the soup. It tasted so good while cooking that I ate a bowl without the pasta b/c I didn't want to wait anymore. YUMMY! Thanks for a great tasting recipe!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Trixyinaz March 01, 2010

Love, love, loved this! There are only the two of us, but I made the whole recipe and froze a lot of it in 1 serving-sized bags. (I'm really late writing this review, b/c we did this back in the winter!). It's still good now! We used turkey in place of beef as I always do, and my BF who had never had Pasta e fagioli had 3 bowls! A keeper for sure.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JennyLynn99 August 18, 2010

This is true comfort food. I made a half batch b/c there are only two of us; however, we love leftovers. I subbed Italian style ground turkey for the beef and only added one can of red kidney beans. I used Classico's Spicy Tomato Basil sauce and it gave it a nice kick. There is not doubt we will make this again! Thanks!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sbera007 February 16, 2010

This soup is REALLY good! Seriously! The ironic thing is, i picked out a soup to make that i knew wasn't really up my fiances alley because i wanted to take it to work for lunch for the next week, so i wanted to be sure there was plenty...no joke, he at THREE BOWLS! He just kept saying over and over, "Man, this stuff is GOOD!" I stuck to the recipe pretty closely...didn't make it in the crockpot because i started making it around 6pm, but it was still outstanding. i took the suggestion of another poster and sautee'd the onion, carrots, celery and garlic together...i then added a pound and a half of ground beef and sauteed that with the veggies (plus some salt and pepper). When the beef is browned, i drained the fat and added a jar of Newman's Own Marinara sauce, (1) 14oz can of diced tomatoes with juice, 1 box of beef stock (plus one can also later on when the soup reduced during cooking), 2 Tbsp Dried Parsley, 2 Tbsp Oregano, 1 can drained Kidney Beans, 1 can drained White Beans, 1 Tbsp Franks Hot Sauce and about 2 Tbsp of Tomato Paste. I simmered all of that for about an hour. I cooked the pasta separately, then added it to the finished soup. I boiled 1 cup of dry salad macaroni pasta...but honestly, i think that's too much. I made the mistake of just dumping all the cooked pasta in the soup instead of adding it a little at a time. Next time I will just make a half cup of the dry pasta. This is really a GREAT recipe and it DOES taste just like the Olive Gardens. I'm definitely making this one again.. THANK YOU!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fancy-pants September 21, 2012

Delicious and easy! I made a 1/2 batch on the stove - followed the recipe and added 1 cup of water. I thought it looked too thick otherwise, but the extra liquid made it perfect. Flavor was still great! I also cooked the pasta separately and added it in at the end. I ate it for dinner last night, lunch today, and am looking forward to leftovers again tomorrow. Thanks for a great new soup recipe.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jamieo444 January 04, 2011
Olive Garden Pasta E Fagioli Soup in a Crock Pot (Copycat)